It’s crunch time, can you feel it?

December 13, 2010

Ahh, the craziness that is the end of semester. When the wheat is separated from the chaff, the men from the boys, women from the girls, and the true hipsters from the burnouts. Or something to that effect. I have tons of things I need to do before I can rest during winter break, and yet I am finding it difficult to summon the energy for me to get it done. In the end, though, I’ll get it done as I always do. I’m not worried about that much. When it’s all over, I’ll be able to breathe a bit so I can get back to doing that which I love, like my jewelry. I have a special, super-secret project planned for my amazing friend Jenny (shhhhh! Don’t tell) as well as a few ideas I’ve had on the back-burner. One can only hope that the next month or so will afford me more time to do things.

In other news, I have been utterly obsessed with the new My Chemical Romance album, Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys. I’ve become rather fascinated with MCR back in 2006 when they released their concept album, The Black Parade. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a sucker for a good story, which is why, when I heard that they were creating an album with classic rock music being their influence and using World War II as their back drop for the story concept, I was all over it. I had already heard some of their earlier work and thought them to be fun, but Black Parade had me hooked. Now Danger Days and I can’t help but be excited by this new twist they’ve added to their music. Though the concept is still dark (a post-Apocalyptic world in which an evil corporation fights renegade racers who use laser guns–sort of Mad Max meets Microsoft [just kidding, don’t sue!])–the sound is much more upbeat and remains true to the band’s description of “party album.” I like it, it’s fun, it’s danceable, and I can so see this as being a comic book. You hear me, Gerard Way? Make this a comic! You already do Umbrella Academy, it’s not like this is a stretch for you. Perhaps what I like the most is Dr. Death Defy, the radio DJ who semi-narrates the story. He’s fun to wake up to when you’re still groggy from sleeping on the train ride. Or is that just me? Could be just me. Anyway, hopefully I’ll let up on the MCR, though that’s probably not going to happen soon. I tend to gorge myself on something until I get annoyed with it. Oh, and if you’re into concept albums, but not so much into MCR, try out a band called Sleep Station. They have some great stuff. I love the album titled After the War, which is also a WWII-themed piece. I sense a pattern!

Ok, now I’m off to do some actual work and maybe write my paper today…or not. Dammit, who thought it would be this difficult to raise the energy to write about ectoplasm photography? It’s something I’m actually interested in! Ah, well. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

