Waste of Time or Sheer Brilliance? Who Says it Can’t be Both?

December 13, 2010

I doubt there’s many out there who don’t use Facebook or are isolated from it at all. It’s become such a facet of our lives that we even made a movie about it, for crying out loud. I didn’t watch it, so I’m not going to draw any conclusions about it, but I do feel like it’s far too soon to be creating a biopic of the founder of Facebook when the man is barely 26 years old. He hasn’t learned to shave yet! Or maybe he has. Honestly, I don’t pay that much attention to the man’s facial hair. But my point is that we’ve gotten so immersed in the Culture of Facebook that it’s almost too easy to make fun of it. When the movie poster touts Zuckerberg as a prophet (which I think is complete crap–it’s just a social networking site, people!) it just opens the door for tons of religious mockery. Now, I’m not mocking anyone’s religion, I have a lot of respect for other people’s beliefs. Honestly, I just think it’s funny at the facility we have to make the analogy between Facebook and religion. So simple, that this conversation I had with my friend Matt just grew organically. No real offense is meant to Mark Zuckerberg or anyone working at Facebook. Just good, clean ridicule.

ZUCKERBERG!

This is what happens when you're bored.

3 Responses to “Waste of Time or Sheer Brilliance? Who Says it Can’t be Both?”

  1. Mark said

    I guess it goes to show you that people don’t take religion as seriously as they used to. Pardon those fanatics still clinging to their old-school ways. As to the facebook movie it really is as much about how the site started as it is about the men behind it.

  2. Samantha said

    Well, there are people who take religion seriously, though not fanatically. I just find it interesting that when you look at how Facebook has been so hyped up, it does start to look like a religion in some ways. The man is barely older than I am and he’s already considered a voice of the future. And the movie, whatever it’s about, was still made much too soon, in my opinion. It barely came on the scene ten years ago and we’re considering it a relic to be studied. I suppose it just goes to show we’ve become too impatient when it comes to recording these kinds of things.

  3. Tom said

    I’m looking forward to an era marked by social networking crusades. Or the schism of the all-mighty FB into a splinter network of spin-off faiths =p

Leave a Reply

