And so it begins again…

January 25, 2011

Just when I thought I’d be able to catch my breath from last semester, the new one starts up. Back in school and no idea just what I’m getting into. Part of me feels excited to get started, begin the learning process and see what I can pick up from professors and friends along the way. The other part…well, let’s just say I’m not all that confident. I’ve always been more of a jack of all trades and definitely a master of none. To see people with such a concrete vision of what they want to do is more than a little intimidating. When asked what we would like to do for our final project (yes, the professor did ask us this on the first day of class), I couldn’t think of anything off the top of my head. And now I’m looking into the concept of innocence. Except that it’s become so overblown and crazy that I’m not sure what to do with it anymore. Ah, well. At least we have time to keep researching what we’d like to do.

My mind does keep circling around this idea of innocence in society and maybe doing an art project on child murderers, both in real life and portrayed in the media. I keep thinking about the cognitive dissonance involved in thinking of a child who commits murder. Like it’s almost something unthinkable. And yet, there are plenty of films and plenty of books that have this archetype. It would just seem interesting to explore. I would probably start off small to create an outline of what I’d like to do. Funny enough, I was looking at some pictures I took and I saw one that would actually work really well with what I want to do for my project.

kids1

Sort of reminds you of The Warriors, right? It’s what I keep coming to when I look at it. If someone knows exactly what that’s from, let me know! I’m interested to see where the inspiration came from.

Leave a Reply

