Concepts Week 6: Can Anybody Hear Me?

March 11, 2011

So I admit that this week’s assignment was a bit tougher than what I’m used to. Not because it lay beyond my skill set or anything like that, but because I went out trying to be fancy and it bit me in the ass. Not literally, though, because…ow. Who does that? Anyway, the Monday after class, I went to Best Buy and got myself a nice, digital recorder. I thought, “Well, this will certainly come in handy for future endeavors, like, you know, when I want to take notes for all those stories I will probably never write. But again I digress. So I get this lovely recorder thinking that it would really help. But I just couldn’t figure out how to transfer the files from it to my computer. So I go back to Best Buy to see if someone could help. Turns out? Yeah, the recorder I got doesn’t have a USB port, so there’s no way for me to transfer a damn thing. With over 10 minutes of recordings I was proud of, I became frustrated to say the least. But now I have a nice, new one with a USB cord and everything. The old one will be going back to the store. The moral of this story? Never trust technology.

Ok, so now I have a bunch of ambient noise ready to go, some music for the background and even some voice recordings (by yours truly since I couldn’t get anyone to stand still long enough to do this). I love all of the music I chose, particularly a boppy tune by Gogol Bordello called, Gypsy Part of Town. To me it fits in with the fun, ever-moving vibe of the city. Have a Youtube video featuring this great song, I insist.

The other piece of sound that I really like is this bit I recorded as I was getting into the subway and waiting for the 4 train. The last part of this piece can’t be used for the project as the announcer on the train says it’s going downtown and the next stop is Union Square. Considering our heroine (Karen) starts out there, it wouldn’t make sense to have her on a train going to Union Square. Unless we want to symbolize the fact that she’ll never escape what’s happening to her. Huh, that’s kind of meta, actually. But I really like this because I really can feel the journey down the stairs and the way the sounds almost shift to accommodate each other. The background sound of metal against metal fades away at some point to reveal the chatter of people walking by. I don’t know, I guess I get a really good sense of movement when I listen to it. Of course, I could be biased as I was there when the recording took place. I uploaded it here, so you be the judge:

Thoughts? Comments? Interpretive dance?

Leave a Reply

